[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/vr/ - Retro Games

View post   

File: 269 KB, 684x877, Ff2.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
960382 No.960382 [Reply] [Original]

What does it take to be good at fighting games? Is there some sort of trick to learning how to play them "properly" or am I cursed to suck forever?

Pic related. Been playing this almost every goddamn day with 0 progress to report. Joe Higashi kicks the shit out of me no matter what order I fight him in. Am I crazy for only ever playing as Terry Bogard? Is he gimped the fuck out in this game?

I also suck at SF2, by the way. And while I'm not good at Garou either, I was able to get the hang of it much easier. I swear, the only fighting games I am legitimately good at are Super Smash Bros. (if that even counts) and Soul Calibur (not retro, I know)

>> No.960406

>>960382
SNK and Capcom fighters require a lot of practice and repetition to build a groundwork of muscle memory for the motions involved in move execution.

Positioning/spacing/strategy all lose effectiveness without said groundwork.

>> No.960412

>Am I crazy for only ever playing as Terry Bogard
he is the only true choice anon.

as an avid fighting game fan but never much of a master of the genre, my only suggestion would be to understand the mechanics of the game and then work on the moves/combos. it can be time consuming but it can also be really rewarding.

>> No.960416

>What does it take to be good at fighting games?
Training and playing against other people
/thread

>> No.960420

>>960382
Nobody ever says learn how to block.

Learn how to block effectively, and look for openings in your opponents moves to get in and counterattack.

>> No.960424

are you playing against the cpu or real people?

>> No.960462

>>960424