[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/vr/ - Retro Games

View post   

File: 53 KB, 575x400, MV5BN2U1MWMxNWItYWUyMC00ZDc4LTlhYzMtZTkxNjc5MWI4NTIyXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMzcyNzgzNg@@._V1_.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
9048574 No.9048574 [Reply] [Original]

I started playing Nethack recently and it's amazing.

>> No.9048626

Plain old Rogue is pretty much perfect for me, and I rather like the Mac/Amiga/ST ports that can be mouse controlled. Diablo (1) is my idea of a perfect update to the formula. There's a lot of derivatives on retro computers I like to dabble with, some better than others. Gauntlet/Dandy/Dark Chambers aren't so far removed either, if you're in the mood. Cave Noir is pretty good, though I wish there was a more traditional roguelike on the platform. We Are Hejickle is a super rad homebrew RL for the NES and it plays great.

>> No.9048631

i like Angband, it's probably the best one

>> No.9048712

the problem with talking about roguelikes is that you don't want to spoil them

>> No.9048756

nethack is great, the variants are "bigger" without really expanding the game play sadly

i still think vanilla's the one game i'd install if i could only have one computer game for the rest of eternity

>>9048712
even if you do the rng will conspire against you 99.99999% of the time

>> No.9048826

>>9048712
I get that. I got to a point with Nethack that I decided when I come across something new, I'll just skim the wiki page to get a basic understanding, rather than lose potentially hours or more of progress because putting a wand of cancellation into a bag of holding is a recipe for an atomic fucking bomb

>> No.9050368