[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/vr/ - Retro Games

View post   

File: 7 KB, 221x117, image.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
711191 No.711191 [Reply] [Original]

Hey there,
I am actually really new to thus whole emulator thing and I would like to play some SNES games, specifically some RPGs. What is the best emulator to use? Or what are the pros and cons behind each? One of my friends told me that ZSNES is the way to go, will give me the best performance, and is the easiest to use. But I don't know, what does /vr/ think?

>> No.711194

http://emulation-general.wikia.com/wiki/Recommended_Emulators
Be aware it is a flameware-bait topic on /vr/. Try all three, choose the one you like.

Have a good gamepad for it?

>> No.711201

I go with bsnes, but don't use it if you have a shitty computer.

ZSNES looks cool though, it's what I used when I was a kid.

>> No.711265

>>711201
>bsnes

Why are people still calling it that, hasn't it been higan for months now

>> No.711269

>>711194
I have USB adapter for a playstation controller. I hope it will work.
So if I am correct, BSNES emulates the most closely to the SNES?

>> No.711282

>>711265
bsnes 070 - 072 are the preferred versions by many. There haven't been any tremendous improvements to the emulation since then and everything has gotten more complicated.

>> No.711429

>>711282

what has the author been doing since those versions? just tweak the gui?

>> No.711436

>>711429

Adding coprocessor LLE using the recently dumped coprocessor ROMs

>> No.711440

>>711191

Any will do for most of the games

>> No.711443

>>711282

I'm not sure why people think the current higan is complicated, all you have to do is Library>Import Game, and it works with both .sfc and .smc ROM types

>> No.711449

SNES9x is the best overall SNES emulator