[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/vr/ - Retro Games

View post   

File: 1.68 MB, 1280x720, bd.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6227514 No.6227514 [Reply] [Original]

I've been playing Doom (or Doom II) since I was like 7 years old (I was born in 1988), and I love these new mods. To me, it keeps the game playable even in 2020.

Yet when I mention Brutal Doom I get all this disdain and people poo pooing. Why is Brutal Doom oh so hated?

>> No.6227517

>>6227514
It's overbloated and overrated. I remember enjoying the first versions but since then Sarge added lots of unnecessary crap to BD and still continues to do so.

>> No.6227519

>>6227517
I honestly like the angle they're working with, where it's this suite of tons of little mini-mods. It's like a mishmash.

>> No.6227523

>>6227514
>AVAIABLE
Quality

>> No.6227528

>>6227514
There was a thread about this last month.

>> No.6227541

>>6227514
Brutal Doom brought in a LOT of people in to playing Doom for the first time due to it's popularity... and many of those people often only associate Doom with Brutal Doom, and have never actually played the base game. The mod also has an AWFUL community that harasses other mod makers with endless questions like "Why isn't this compatible with brutal doom?!", and reporting bugs acting like its ran on just doom2.wad when it was actually ran with brutal doom.
I honestly think it's somewhat of a fun mod, but it's shit community has caused a fissure with the rest of the modding community. Also dosn't help that 90% of brutal doom is just other mods that were stolen with no credit attributed and put together, most of brutal is not original to it self which also is a point of contention with the modding community.

>> No.6227580

>>6227541