[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/vr/ - Retro Games

View post   

File: 330 KB, 1920x1080, Baldurs-Gate-2-Enhanced-Edition-screenshots.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
5343775 No.5343775 [Reply] [Original]

I just started playing Baldur's Gate 2, and I don't quite see how this is the "best CRPG ever". I played the first Baldur's Gate years ago, I don't remember too much besides the basics of the main plot and that I really hated the endgame, but I have some time now so I decided to give Baldur's Gate 2 a try. I just got to the Copper Coronet after doing the tent thing and getting Aeirie. Is this really it? I don't see the amazing writing or amazing setting, at least planescape hooked me right away with the fantastical setting, interesting characters and the mystery, I don't give a hit about this villian guy and Imoen is fucking annoying and I don't give a shit about saving her.

Should I push through? Does it get any better? What are your recommendations for party members?

I guess a general Baldur's Gate thread as well.

>> No.5343794

>>5343775
>I just started playing Baldur's Gate 2, and I don't quite see how this is the "best CRPG ever".
That's very fair. Tastes differ.
>Is this really it? I don't see the amazing writing or amazing setting
The writing in Baldur's Gate isn't particularly exceptional. The setting is Forgotten Realms, which, while full of cool stuff, is also fairly generic. Where BG2 excels is in the implementation of real-time-with-pause combat, richness of the AD&D system (spells, items, available classes), the colourful party members and very cool location design.
But if you are primarily a fan of writing and roleplaying opportunities, BG2 isn't my first recommendation. It's really good at what it does, though, which is a fun, tactical, varied, entertaining adventure romp.