[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/vr/ - Retro Games

View post   

File: 416 KB, 591x439, dq5-01.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
459094 No.459094 [Reply] [Original]

Disclaimer: the opinions in this post are just that. opinions. if you disagree with me about what makes a game great that's fine. you should post about what game you think is great and why rather than trying to tell me I'm wrong. Also I'm mainly just referring to RPG's where characters and story line (often) take center stage.

>TL;DR: The below is what I think makes an action-RPG go from meh that was fun to OMG FUCKING AWESOME. Tell me what you think it is that takes a game to that next level of awesomeness.

So I just started playing Dragon Quest V and I'm getting some major Chrono Trigger vibes. Putting aside the obvious facts
>same artist
>same developer

I'd like to draw some other similarities which I think make help make these (and many other) games GREAT.

>A dynamic story.
I'm an hour or so into DQV and I have received only the merest hint regarding the plot. In other words events are unfolding in a natural way. It may be natural for you to get told who the bad guy is right at the start if you are legitimately privy to such information but that doesn't mean its not boring as fuck IMHO.

>Just the right amount of personalty.