[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/vr/ - Retro Games

View post   

File: 47 KB, 256x178, aaaaaa.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4437082 No.4437082 [Reply] [Original]

Blog post incoming. Just wanted to jerk off to this game a little.

I started playing Super Mario 64 again after not touching it for probably 15 years, and I just realized how much different and better it is than the other games. I think this is mostly because, it's one of the only Mario games that has a real atmosphere.

For example, when you're outside of the castle, there's no music playing, just the sound of the wind, birds chirping, the pattering of Mario's feet on the ground... it's all very ambient. Most Mario games are extremely over the top, but SM64 has a very subtle vibe.

It's not that the game doesn't have typical wacky, happy stuff like the other games, but there's a very pervasive feeling of solitude and mystery, and some of the levels are almost creepy and unsettling. Exploring the lonely castle with only ghostly Toads here and there, dark caves with forgotten water monsters, abandoned cities, etc. It's really unlike anything else in any of the other games. Even the music is totally different and befitting the subdued vibe.

It's really hard to put a finger on, but there's just something offbeat and strange about SM64 that makes it so great. I think this is a classic example of how primitive technology can actually result in a better game, because the building block-style environments, saturated colors and abstract/surreal enemy designs just wouldn't look the same with modern technology. Just look at the DS port -- it has none of the same charm despite sharing the same basic gameplay/design.

What are some of your best memories you have with SM64, or some particularly strange things you've found while playing?

>> No.4437272