[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/vr/ - Retro Games

View post   

File: 92 KB, 1280x720, Nosferatu.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4040761 No.4040761 [Reply] [Original]

Does anyone knows this game?
Name's Nosferatu, a side-scrolling game for the SNES. The concept is basically Prince of Persia meets the aesthetic of Castlevania. I'm an aspiring indie game designer trying to develop a somewhat spiritual successor to it, because even though it was a pretty good game, it had many problems, such as fake difficulty and some strange design choices, such as making the protagonist a guy with a jock jacket who punches and kicks his way through the entire Dracula castle.

My question is: if you could, what would you change in it?
I suggest you download the game and try it out, if you can. I'll wait.

>> No.4040770

I know it.
I enjoyed the concept. Not entirely sure if it's like this, but I imagined it's about some guy trying to save his girlfriend from the clutches of Count Orlok himself.
As for the gameplay, yeah, it could be quicker. The MC moves too slow, and I hated having to switch stances in order to kill the enemies. Plus, combat is very slow and the puzzles and dungeon design get repetitive.
Those are its main flaws, as I see it, that you could correct in your indie game.

>> No.4040772

If you need more inspiration and want to see waht works and what doesn't, here is a lsit of basically all cinematic platformers.
http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=989633

>> No.4040780

>>4040770
Yeah, that's the one. If i corrected the main flaws, would you play it? How much would you pay for it if i'd put it on Steam? What do you think i should not change?

>>4040772
Hey, thanks! Great info.

>> No.4040789

>>4040780