[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/vr/ - Retro Games

View post   

File: 30 KB, 512x447, earth.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
358604 No.358604 [Reply] [Original]

So I started playing Earthbound for the first time, and man, it's pretty interesting. I'm only at the first city, but it already has an atmosphere I've never really seen in an RPG before. It's just normal everyday life, feels so homely. Seems kinda hard though, I probably just suck though.

Anyway thoughts on Earthbound?

>> No.358634

I emulated it. I wish I had played it as a kid;I could only imagine the nostalgia I would have for it if so.

But although I loved the atmosphere and style, I don't have enough spare time nowadays to play such primitive basic turn based RPG mechanics especially when there is no combat animation and encounters are high.

>> No.358654

Wait, "homey" or "homely"?

Also, I've never emulated it, but doesn't the EB ROM have some variety of DRM on it that makes the game SUPER hard? Regardless, it was hard for me at first too.

>> No.358651

I enjoy how you don't have to keep fighting enemies significantly weaker than you and can just instantly kill them without combat.

>> No.358662

I kinda enjoyed how your HP would gradually tick down after you took damage, giving you the chance to recover from (what would otherwise be) a fatal attack.

>> No.358684

One of these days I'll finish the game.

>> No.358675

>>358634

I'm not a huge fan of RPGs or turn based fighting either. I'm worried I won't want to finish the game since I find that gameplay kinda tedious. For now though like I said the atmosphere is really likable and calming.

And yeah, the game feels like it would make for amazing nostalgia.

>> No.358693