[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/vr/ - Retro Games

View post   

File: 673 KB, 638x824, mother_final.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2070626 No.2070626 [Reply] [Original]

What's /vr/'s opinion of the Mother series? Also, general Mother thread, I guess.

I started playing through Earthbound a few days ago, and I plan on playing Mother 3 soon.

>> No.2070637

I actually JUST finished Mother 1 yesterday, having played Mother 3 and Earthbound first. Tbh, I really didn't enjoy Mother 1 at all. I really liked the others though.

I'm super stoked for the fangame Mother 4 and Citizens of Earth. They look like good spiritual successors.

>> No.2070643

>>2070626
Its Dragon Quest reskinned to be ZANZY and POP CULTURE REFERENCES LOL

I think its a garbage game, with an uninteresting story and no redeeming features.

Of course some ones just going to come in and say that I hate fun and video games, and that I didn't have a childhood.

The thing is, I did play this as a child. I hated it then, and I hate it now

>> No.2070681

>>2070643
U just hat fun n vido gams, u didn't hav childhod.

But seriously, I get why people don't like it. The funny thing is, I couldn't get into Dragon Quest.

>> No.2070743
File: 315 KB, 617x874, 1208498669876.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>Earthbound (SNES)
loved it. joined the cult, created the original SPC archive.
>Mother (FC)
loved it. played through at least 3 times.
>Mother 3 (GBA)
what the fuck is this shit?

>> No.2070768

>>2070643
There's tons of games that are just "Dragon Quest reskinned". When playing old RPGs, I'm mainly doing it for the story.

>> No.2070781

>>2070643
to be fair some children do deserve to be beaten

>> No.2070786

>>2070643
You could call Mother 1 that. But you couldn't have played that back then.