[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/vr/ - Retro Games

View post   

File: 940 KB, 1200x900, 1388271579069.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1301709 No.1301709[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

Dear /vr/,

I just got my first game controller (for the 360), and I cannot into precision at all. I have never used a controller before.

I am specifically having issues with the D-pad. I don't seem to have much control over whether I want to be pointing straight up, or diagonally. Will I get better once I get used to it, or are keyboards just objectively superior?

Your sincerely,

Anon

>> No.1301726

>>1301709
The 360 d-pad is somewhat shitty. You'll have much better luck playing non-analog games with a Playstation controller. I used Dual Shock 1 and 2 pads with a cheap Chinese USB adapter. Worked fine in damn near everything that didn't demand a 360 pad.

The 360 pad is fine for modern games and such, but I prefer the Dual Shock 4. Holy balls that controller is comfy. And at SIXTY FUCKING FUNBUX, IT HAD BETTER BE.

>> No.1301737

A digital joystick is better suited for some situations but keyboards are a decent option for digital control if you're used to them.
Gamepads like that have more use for analog control.

>> No.1301741

>>1301726
>>1301737
Thank you very much for your advice.

>> No.1301787

>>1301709
>Issues with an Xbox d-pad

Yeah, you picked the worst d-pad to learn on of all time.

>> No.1301793

>>1301787
Hey, at least the X360 pad can do diagonals, unlike every Nintendo d-pad ever.

And it doesn't tear your skin off like the Playstation d-pad.

>> No.1301796

>>1301787
>>1301793
I haven't touched the Xbox One's d-pad yet, but thinking back, I haven't really ever liked d-pads from the big three.

Now logitech makes a decent d-pad, wear issues aside.

>> No.1301814

>>1301796