[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/vr/ - Retro Games

View post   

File: 44 KB, 400x319, 2043.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1180181 No.1180181[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

I just started playing Fallout 1 for the first time, and man, this is great. I've never really gotten into CRPGs before besides Planescape, and so far I'm enjoying this one like crazy.

Two questions:

>What's the verdict on Fallout 2? I've heard some people say it's better, worse, more polished, less polished, etc. I just want to know the biggest differences and I'll make the decision for myself.

>What are some of the other best CRPGs that I may have missed out on? I don't care as much about the plot as I do about the gameplay. Bonus points for lots of player choice (being able to talk your way through the game or fight your way through it) and exploration. And player-owned housing in some way, shape, or form is pretty cool too. I have Baldur's Gate 1 and 2 and Ultima VII already but I haven't gotten much into them yet.

Also, Fallout thread.

>> No.1180194

Fallout 2 is several times larger than Fallout, with equally more bugs. It has more options for non-combat options.

On the down side, its full of memes and pop-culture references. They aren't nearly as witty as the creators thought they were. Its also balanced horribly. Most weapons are garbage by the time you get them, and everything has 10 billion hit points.

If you like Fallout, though, its highly unlikely you won't like Fallout 2.

>> No.1180197

>>1180194
It doesn't sound too bad, the non-combat and the larger options both sound like bonuses so I'll at least give it a try.

What about Arcanum? I've heard the combat is shit but it's fairly open-ended and the game world is incredible. Opinions?

>> No.1180214