[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/vr/ - Retro Games

View post   

File: 101 KB, 1400x1050, n64-kid.0.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
10162956 No.10162956 [Reply] [Original]

When did you lose the childhood joy of video games? You know, that moment where opening a new game no longer triggered the same endorphin rush and in hindsight was your first taste of having a matured adult brain? For me it was when I bought a Dreamcast with my own money at 15 and it felt fairly muted compared to what I had been expecting it to feel like. I think this was also the first time that the Christmas season felt like a "normal" holiday rather than a magical fantasy adventure.

>> No.10162973

Probably like 16. Also, when my interest developed further and I started playing games more seriously since as a kid I mostly only beat the easiest of games

Oh, no wonder I always sucked at Mega Man bosses, you can't fight like it's a real fight, you have to memorize a patttern and do some weird shit like jump up the wall for half the battle that you'd never see in an animu like you were trying to live out through the game as a kid. Recognizing games were all about mechanics, and not like simulations of things, somewhat came along with that.

>> No.10162979

>>10162956
Must have been around 18 or 19, right when MMOs, Free To Play, and MOBAs were taking off.
I realized that games are shit and are not going to get better than they were in the past. Rather than allow a game to live on merit or word of mouth alone, they were just going to keep the players going back to the same bullshit year after year.
I stopped gaming for years, but got back into /vr/ from time to time

>> No.10162982

>>10162956
You probably have depression and you are mistakingly believing that this is just what being an adult feels like.

>> No.10162997