Quantcast
[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / g / ic / jp / lit / sci / tg / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports / report a bug ] [ 4plebs / archived.moe / rbt ]

/vt/ is now archived.Become a Patron!

/tg/ - Traditional Games

View post   

[ Toggle deleted replies ]
File: 455 KB, 1046x752, 1579947285267.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google] [report]
70648899 No.70648899 [Reply] [Original] [4plebs] [archived.moe]

Im new to dm'ing and i was hoping to get some advice from the wise dm's from /tg/ about the following points:
>How to persuade PC's to be more interactive with npc's
>how do you make a dungeon in which has rooms which dont just serve to be 'place where enemies are'
>how do you reward pc roleplaying (my players are a little short on the creative side)
Thank you for any advice

>> No.70648943

>>70648899
>how to persuade PC's to be more interactive with npc's
The best advice I can give here is to put characters in front of the players that would be of interest to their characters. Beyond that it's up to them.
>how do you make a dungeon in which has rooms which dont just serve to be 'place where enemies are'
Get creative. Puzzles, riddles, environmental obstacles, traps. There's a ton of resources online for dungeon building. Dungeon crawls are as old as TTRPGs.
>how do you reward pc roleplaying (my players are a little short on the creative side)
It's up to you, but bonus XP is a good one. Others just come up as you go. Throw some money their way if they're roleplaying well in shops or towns. For instance in my last session a character was challenged to a simple arm-wrestling contest, but the other player got the crowd going and people started tossing copper coins in for the winner. A small bonus but it got the players invested. I run a looser system, but if a player comes up with a unique idea in combat I assign it to a base attribute and run with it. I guess what it really comes down to is show them, don't tell them, that they're roleplaying well.