Quantcast
[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / g / ic / jp / lit / sci / tg / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports / report a bug ] [ 4plebs / archived.moe / rbt ]

Due to resource constraints, /g/ and /tg/ will no longer be archived or available. Other archivers continue to archive these boards.Become a Patron!

/tg/ - Traditional Games

View post   

[ Toggle deleted replies ]
[ERROR] No.17315589 [Reply] [Original] [4plebs] [archived.moe]

Hi /tg/, /x/phile here.

I have very little experience with tabletop/p&p RPGs, but would like to get into them. I'm interested in running a game based on SCPs and other X-Files-like things. I've read some threads about Call of Cthulu, and I like the idea, but I have some questions.

1. Keeping in mind that I have basically no experience, what would be a good system to run a game like this on?

2. If I do choose CoC, do I really have to stick with the eldritch stuff? I mean, the game is based around elder gods etc. but is it possible to run a game without them, or is it better to just use a different system altogether?

Thanks in advance.

>> No.17315641

Bumping with SCPs:
http://www.scp-wiki.net/scp-172

>> No.17315656

Really, as long as you're willing to dive into the material and figure it out, any system will work to start.

As to your second concern, the wonderful thing about pen & paper RPGs is that you get to change them to suit your needs. Don't want to use elder gods? Just don't. Reflavor everything to involve your own campaign elements.

I don't have any experience with the CoC system, but I hear lots of good things about it, so my advice would be to download the PDFs somewhere and give them a read.

>> No.17315681

I think /x/ would really enjoy Unknown Armies. If anyone has the UA IHOP picture, well, that pretty well illustrates why I think that.

>> No.17315694

>>17315589
>1. Keeping in mind that I have basically no experience, what would be a good system to run a game like this on?