[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 7 KB, 300x168, ugg.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
9870113 No.9870113 [Reply] [Original]

If I am interested in learning something and there are a lot of video tutorials and easy beginner guides about it, should I use them? Is there any point in learning about the subject, then?

I feel like I'm being a mental cuckold by taking the easy route and learning from somebody who is specifically trying to teach me and help me understand. But I also don't like wasting time.

>> No.9870125

why the fuck do you care what /sci/ thinks is acceptable lmao
that's truly mentally cucked

>> No.9870145
File: 5 KB, 211x239, 1521363591418.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>9870113

>> No.9870149

>>9870125
some people on /sci/ have self-taught things

I want to know if people who actually self-teach use tutorials for dummies or if they just go straight for the academic literature. Basically, I want to know if being dumb enough to benefit from tutorials means you are too dumb to actually learn something

>> No.9870403
File: 212 KB, 534x900, Time of the Dark Cover without Text.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

If this isn't bait, you've completely misunderstood -why- video tutorials are usually bad.

>> No.9870672

>>9870113
I like to watch a video about what I'm about to study, so I can understand the general concept of it before actually studying. It helps me so I won't get lost in the middle of the reading

>> No.9870696

You realize that smart people aren’t just born knowing everything right? It’s like saying “do I have to encounter a word in English to be able to know it’s definition?” The difference is that the smart person will digest and then be able to use the word properly with less encounters.

>> No.9870702

>>9870403