[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 50 KB, 1596x868, leastaction.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
9787755 No.9787755 [Reply] [Original]

pic completely related,

right now im studying maths, but i got interested on something a friend of mine told me; that the behaviour of kinetic and potential energy in a falling object is such that if the subtraction of them through time creates a curve which's area under it is minimal.

i came out with a caveman wojak-worthy counterexample (if kinetic and potential energy curves behaved logarithmically, or like a +2th order ecuation, action will be minimized even further than what we see in experiments)

so. physicist friends, ¿why aren't projectile's trajectories drawing logarithmic curves?

>> No.9787772

why should they?

>> No.9787776

>>9787772
because action should be minimal

also i put that L=U-K in my pic, it's l=K-U

>> No.9787803

>>9787755
Physical laws.

>> No.9787936

>>9787755
Because they both go with the square of velocity, non with the log of velocity

>> No.9787948

Because kinetic and potential energy don't don't have that form. The kinetic energy is a quadratic form, meaning it is proportional to the square of the velocity, and potential energy usually only depends on distances between objects. These quantities are defined independently and the classical formulation of the PLA says that given those quantities, the trajectory of a system is such that the action is extremized.

>> No.9788242
File: 290 KB, 1280x948, piñeber.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>9787948
then is the principle of least action supposed to be as follows?:

from t(0) to t(f)

given U,K quadratic curves with their vertices in t(0).

and we know the value of U(f) XOR K(f)