[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 342 KB, 1128x888, physicist-piana.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
9719811 No.9719811 [Reply] [Original]

Can you tell me what the scientific community currently knows about quantum mechanics?

We live in a world where news about Kim Kardashian are printed to the general public but we're kept in the dark about scientific research. I'm an IQ 100 white trash but I still have a desire to know what's going on.
I've been watching Youtube documentaries about double slit experiments, fotons teleporting and quantum entanglement.
I get the feeling all this has been explained already since the phenomena are pretty old and common knowledge, but since I'm not a scientist I can't search the web for the proper terms because I don't know them.

For example, why does light appear to be particles in one situation and waves in another? Back in the day they used to have a few competing theories for this like the superposition theory where some kind of wave function collapses. No idea what that even means though.

>> No.9719821

>>9719811
nobody knows why it can act like a wave and a particle. schrodinger's cat comes from a joke about the current theory as to how it acts like a wave and a particle.
in other news quantum mechanics hasn't been linked with general relativity and the standard model has been proven and is currently wrong

>> No.9719824

>>9719821

The particle can't know that we're detecting it. It just can't.

>> No.9719831

>>9719824
assuming you're not being sarcastic it's more the act of interacting with it than knowing we're looking at it

>> No.9719846

>>9719831

But why does detecting have such an impact on the particle?

>> No.9719848
File: 843 KB, 1275x817, rykakoo.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]