[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 88 KB, 900x750, albert-einstein-2.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
9503966 No.9503966 [Reply] [Original]

I'm gonna be honest, I'm a legitimate scientist, but I almost wish the science community was more of a social community than a scientific one.

This will sound bizarre and garner a lot of hate, but one of my main reasons is that I think most peoples scientific work is awful and I would find it more interesting if we had a TMZ for Scientists and scientists kids.

Also more interactions between scientists and celebrities like this video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ytR_w463WE

What do you think about this and how would you feel if for example Neil Degrasse Tyson's son was made into a celebrity regularly appearing on TMZ?

>> No.9503971

>inb4 people will only care about looks instead of mathematical and scientific ability and it would ruin science.

I believe science is already in a fairly shitty state and would find a TMZ for scientists more interesting. Discrimination based on looks isn't fair though.

>> No.9503980

Most Good Scientists will be livid and quit science.

>> No.9503982

that sounds extremely difficult and fraught with pop sci danger
i think the problem is once you're deep enough into true science it becomes really hard to communicate what you do and why it's important to "normal people", who have more then enough intellectual capacity to get to the same point as that scientist but no interest to drop who knows how many years into EXTREMELY specialized research.

this is just a consequence of hyper specialization and limited memory capacity and limited time by the general populace. people got stuff to do