[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 670 KB, 536x537, ESgLXgT.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
8407238 No.8407238 [Reply] [Original]

How do I get better at retaining information? I sort of fucked myself over by slacking off all of my undergraduate (3.2 GPA). I am in my final year of my BS chem degree with graduate school offers. I feel like I haven't learned shit. How much of the undergraduate course curriculum is really necessary? I only reteach myself little aspects of chemistry and grammar because I am trying to publish.

>> No.8407743

>>8407238
>I sort of fucked myself over by slacking off all of my undergraduate (3.2 GPA).
>I am in my final year of my BS chem degree with graduate school offers.

First, how do you have grad school offers already? Is this medical school? I ask because, from what I've seen, PhD programs interview around Jan/Feb/March.

Nonetheless, if you have grad school offers, then how did you fuck yourself over? You got into grad school, you're good. Enjoy your last year of undergrad.

>How much of the undergraduate course curriculum is really necessary?

Once you're past intermediate-level classes (physical, analytical, maybe organic though that's more intro), it mostly depends on your research interests in grad school.

>> No.8407748
File: 118 KB, 736x1007, 1456901901165.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

I never finished high school, but I could rote memorize back then. I didnt study for a few years and lost the ability to study.

I'm in law now with a distinction average, which means I'm doing better than all the normies who got top of their classes and schools when they finished school.

Here's the summary though: Memorizing is worthless. In current year it's about being able to be creative and find the information you need.