[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 1.48 MB, 3603x2591, spede1979.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
8171175 No.8171175 [Reply] [Original]

I'm a fresh Ph.D. in neuroscience, 25 years old, and I decided to apply for some kind of medical degree for easy money from part-time gigs and home visits. I thought that Veterinary medicine is cool, because I think it's more appealing to deal with scared cats and dogs than with furious old hags with hemorrhoids. I applied, I passed the entrance exam easily, and I'm a freshman again.

However, I can not tolerate the stupidity of my classmates. They have problems with high-school level stuff, e.g. introductory cell biology and genetics, Newton's laws and naming simple organic compunds. In lab exercises the instructors demonstrated them how to use automated pipette and still they couldn't figure out how much liquid the pipette is going to suck. THERE ARE SOME MAGICAL NUMBERS ON THE SIDE OF THE PIPETTE.

I can have intellectual conversations only with professors and other research staff here, because these students talk only about horses, what their horse ate today and what color the horse shit was.

How these kind of people get accepted? I seriously wasn't this stupid when I started as a biology + math student 7 years ago.

Are vetmed students this stupid elsewhere? Are even med students this imbecile?
How do you deal with simple-minded people?
Should I just stay in research?

>> No.8171179

>>8171175
>I'm a fresh Ph.D. in neuroscience
>How do you deal with simple-minded people?
> How to deal with idiot classmates?

That's why nobody takes neuro-""""""""""""""""scientists"""""""""""""""" seriously