[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 14 KB, 335x253, 991733031_Heman3.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
7667630 No.7667630 [Reply] [Original]

>I'm studying physics.
>I like programming a lot, specially videogames and physics simulations.

Are physicist well regarded as programmers by the companies? I don't see myself as a teacher nor I'm that good to be a researcher.

>> No.7667662

Better than shit CS majors surely

>> No.7667708
File: 54 KB, 960x540, 1440813140541.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

A physics degree is just as good as a CS degree for systems analysis, so there's that.
When you get down to the meat and potatoes of it, anyone can be a programmer, just like anyone can be a writer. However, as it is with writing, not everybody will necessarily want to read or use what you write.

I'm pretty sure every STEM has to take at least basic programming these days, right?

>> No.7667727

Most (Pure/physics-based/any non-business) Math majors at my school are probably better PROGRAMMERS than most of the CS kids (granted, CS/Math share first 1-2 years of courses) at my school, except that they don't know much about computer architecture/OS/specializations, but these same Math majors get standard software/dev jobs at the same top tier companies as other CS majors..Now, you can argue causation and correlation but programming in itself isn't something special, but rather a hobby that's easy to pick up.

>> No.7667868

>>7667630
>>Are physicist well regarded as programmers by the companies

Yes, one of the most common jobs for physics majors is being a coder.

>> No.7667949

On a bachelors alone you aren't gonna teach dick.