[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 541 KB, 1450x1100, R.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
7295722 No.7295722 [Reply] [Original]

I have a short (month-long) internship that involves making short programs in R, but I have zero background in programming. Most of the projects go way over my head even though they require very little code. What can I do in a brief period of time so that I'm not totally incompetent? I'm limited in my free time because I have a second job as well. Help me /sci/.

>> No.7295755

Use all your spare time to learn programming.

>> No.7295794

Well, the main use of R is to make programs that takes input data and performs statistical analysis of some sort on it.

The basics of R are pretty straightforward and you can find lots of resources and useful packages around the web.

Just by googling "R program examples", for instance, I find
>http://www.rexamples.com/1/R%20Basics
>http://www.mayin.org/ajayshah/KB/R/

Good luck

>> No.7295899

R is actually not a simple language. It's functional. I could describe it a long time, but I don't bother. The one thing I wanna mention is how OOP is implemented in R. This is at least a disaster. But, on the other hand, R gives a very good understanding of programming when full powers of R are utilized.

>> No.7297544

R isn't that hard if you're a complete beginner, it's only hard if you're used to a sensible programming language.

Check out other people's R code. www.r-bloggers.com is pretty good.

>> No.7297549

>>7295899
it's not purely functional though, you can use while and for loops as you please making it a lot easier than for example haskell

>> No.7297554

>>7295722