[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 32 KB, 633x758, 1428946894003.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
7191661 No.7191661 [Reply] [Original]

I'm at the end of my engineering degree. When I was at school I got the best grades in my school year. I got As on maths and the three sciences (UKfag). The world was my oyster. But I put no thought in to both my uni choice (just picked my home town one) or subject choice ("hurrdurr engineering is just maths + science, right?").

My degree is 5 years long. Its all gone by in a blur. I remember finding it awful a few weeks in. I almost dropped out in my second year. After 3.5 years I had basically had enough. I barely revised for my middle of the year exams but I did well because of my work in the term.

After the that was my bachelor's thesis. I think I did close to nothing for about 2.5 to 3 months and then wrote any old shit in a short space of time. My degree was frankly too easy before that. It felt completely unprepared for doing research level stuff. To add insult to dumbness, my topic was within a theoretical area where all the papers are by physicists! It really underlines the pointlessness of engineering degrees. Neither the rigour of physics or the practicality of computer science. It was at this time that I realised that my brain was hollow shit and I would never amount to anything academically.

>> No.7191664
File: 20 KB, 638x547, QYPlmPQ.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]