[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 16 KB, 324x324, proud_math_undergrad_hat-r8c1321b3124147c394681419ac726dfb_v9wfy_8byvr_324.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
7139066 No.7139066 [Reply] [Original]

What are some things every undergraduate math student should experience during their education? Examples may include specific texts, conceptual revelations, psychedelic drugs, certain derivations or proofs, videos... etc. This can also be a thread for knowledge a student should possess on their way out.

>> No.7139093

get involved with your department. we had an undergrad math club which was pretty cringey but it was good to get involved with my peers. managed to form a research study group through that as well. I got summer scholarship projects when I was an undergrad which were really cool. tutor for the department if possible, or marking but that's pretty shit. if you have a good idea of your interests then check out department seminars and don't be afraid to ask questions. also make friends with those professors who share your interests, they can point you in the right direction as far as your interests are concerned and I managed to get a great reference out of one of them also.

>> No.7139095

>>7139066

>long study marathons , for example, 14 good hours a day for say 20 - 30 days

>Come out as god after those 20-30 days

>> No.7139114

>>7139095
I know this feel and I can verify it is one of the best feels out there.

>> No.7139118

>>7139095
is this really a thing? I am intrigued.

Math undergrad here, I hope people respond

>> No.7139123

Prepare to be disappointed when you can't find a job related to math and end up in finance where your boss will crush your dreams.

If you don't kill yourself before 40 years old, you will then see yourself become the vilain.