[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 26 KB, 400x400, image.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6959005 No.6959005 [Reply] [Original]

Programmers on /sci/, how do you improve your programming skills?

I have been doing C# for about 3 years now(web applications, desktop apps) however i still feel that i am average at best. What are some ways that as a programmer i can widen/sharpen my skills?

I was initially interested in other languages and platform like java web development and phone apps, but since most of the time i had to be working on my main project i didn't really have time to explore..

Also general programming thread..

>> No.6959008

>>6959005
sicp

>> No.6959024

>>6959008
The book..?

>> No.6959408

>>6959005

The programming language of /sci/ence is supposed to be python. So perhaps you could add that to your repertoire.

But what I'm really curious about anon is do you actually know what it is that needs improvement, as in which areas of programming do you want to become proficient in?

>> No.6959534

>>6959005
Programming skill as in solving problems or using one language features to the max?

>> No.6959574

I've reluctantly become a master of PHP (and mySQL) through necessity. All of the places I've worked have used LAMP stacks, so I just learned by doing. Over and over. Started out in the 2000s barely being able to get an email POST form working.

>> No.6959585
File: 64 KB, 350x360, 1392032530179.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

what do you not know?