[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 14 KB, 300x330, duty_calls.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6872355 No.6872355 [Reply] [Original]

/sci/

Want your opinion on something. I'm studying economics at a top five school in the US. I have a ton of options open to me in terms of banking, consulting, etc. But they don't interest me at all. I want to go into teaching, specifically in urban schools.

I feel, weird. Going into something with low pay and low prestige with all of these other incredible opportunities out there for me. I know this is completely based in emotion, but I'm worried people are going to think less of me for doing it. Has anyone else done something similar? What happened?

>> No.6872396

>>6872355
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

the kids are going to fucking walk right over you and completely break your spirit within a month, you are going to struggle to get through your first year of work, move halfway across the country to a 99% white suburb and beg for a private school teaching job or a job in the local school district

this happens to every single fucking head in the clouds rich white kid who gets his perceptions of the ghetto secondhand and tries to do this shit, the only teachers who can handle it in that type of environment are the ones who were exposed to it themselves growing up and got out of it and overcame the odds anyway and know what they are doing, clueless white kids like you get fucking chewed up and spit out in no time

teaching at a ghetto school is one of the worst tasks ever, it's like doing charity for people who not only do not want your charity they want more than anything for you to stop giving it to them and will do anything in their power to interfere with it and stop you from teaching them