[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 968 KB, 400x400, bsIyErA.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6765553 No.6765553 [Reply] [Original]

I've been lecturing higher math for quite a while(6 years) and been researching on higher math. However, a student of mine enjoyed my lectures, and his rich father offered me an insane amount of money to tutor his younger son pre-calculus and introductory calculus. The problem is, I have even forgot arithmetic(at least the mnemonic tricks I knew and the speed I once had), plus how to teach something to someone who doesn't know that he'll have to search stuff on his own too. I also don't know how to tutor.

tl;dr How do I refresh arithmetic skills and teach HS or 1st year undergrad courses after a huge period of not doing so?

>> No.6765556

>>6765553
Also, I wouldn't like to turn down the offer, the money are really good. And yes I know, at that level, the skill for teaching of a normal HS teacher and an insanely overqualified lecturer is the same. The father doesn't know this, the son should have known that. I feel he's trying to bribe me to help his elder son get into a PhD, but I honestly think he doesn't need me.

>> No.6765569

I've been lecturing at Yale since 2003 and arithmetic topology since 2009-2010 if anyone's wondering. My name is Mikhail Kapranov. My name usually brings attention in forums, that's why I use it here.

>> No.6765576

No Brasil, chamamos a curvatura espaço-tempo ou viagens no espaço como Buraco de Minhoca.
Ponte Einstein-Rose.

Muito obrigado pela atenção.
Que Deus abençoe vocês e toda sua família.

Atenciosamente:
Júlio Claudionor Fófano Júnior (add no Orkut até 30 de setembro de 2014).
www.twitter.com/juliofofano
55 (32) 8501-1499

>> No.6765579

>>6765553