[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 2.87 MB, 200x150, 1387440199491.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6236126 No.6236126 [Reply] [Original]

Need advice on math.
It's my first year and I suck at math.
I need to become better, but the system I am in indicates me to wait for the next fall to try again.
We did Analysis and I just couldn't wrap my head around it.
Should I retry Calculus then try again, or should I work on mathematical analysis?
Please, do respond.
pic related, just with biochemistry and genetic research.

>> No.6236830

>>6236126
I'm sorry for being a pleb, but what exactly is Analysis? Do you mean stats or something more esoteric like number theory crap?
Again, sorry if I'm missing the point my req's only had me do calc3 and diffeq's.

>> No.6236865

>>6236126
Get a beginner's book like Abbot's Understanding analysis
http://f3.tiera.ru/2/M_Mathematics/MC_Calculus/MCet_Elementary%20calculus%20textbooks/MCetp_Problems/Abbott%20S.%20Understanding%20analysis%20(with%20Instructor's%20Solutions%20Manual)%20(Springer,%202010)(ISBN%201441928669)(O)(429s)_MCetp_.pdf
It's good if you want a very gentle introduction.

>>6236830
>Do you mean stats or something more esoteric like number theory crap?
Number theory is the most applied area of mathematics, especially in computer science.
"Calculus" is just a collection of computational tricks, while analysis is the theoretical basis for them. To understand things like differential equations and geometry, one needs to really grasp what the foundations of differential and integral calculus are, and that is what a basic analysis course teaches you.

>> No.6236877

>>6236865