[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 179 KB, 589x564, 1283716413267.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6045139 No.6045139[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

I live in GTA (Greater Toronto Area), and I'm in third year finishing up a physics/math double major.

what kind of jobs can I get? Do I need a masters? What should be my next steps?

I'm going to take more experimental physics in fourth and fifth year. I'm hoping it'll help.

My original plan was to get into teaching, but seeing the real world ... I fucked up

that being said, I am top of my class, keep getting invited to exclusive clubs like the golden key honour society...etc.
also unlike my class mates, I can communicate very well (interpersonal skills) >>cheap shots at this crappy post

now on paper it seems like I could excel in anything... but then the real world hit me like a ton of bricks.

what I'm limited by my family/wife - need to continue to live in lower ontario ( Canada ) and
what seems like no jobs

can you guys help me out?
any advice?

How hard would it to get a engineers job?

also no I am not going to /adv/ to ask 16 year olds and humanity majors on science careers.

thanks guys for your time

>> No.6045153

sorry, bankers ruined the world for us science folks. If you know how to code you can get a programming job but there's not much for phys/math outside of academia. You can also be a dick and help out the bankers by getting a quant job, but that also requires knowing to code in c++

>> No.6045165
File: 354 KB, 1024x683, 1294388623230.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

woohoo, so how does one work in academia/ teaching without losing ones passion ?

>> No.6045168

>>6045165
good marks + make friends with teachers

>> No.6045244

>>6045165