[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 398 KB, 800x600, 1354337550426.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6005431 No.6005431 [Reply] [Original]

Why are academics so stingy? A professor makes almost 100k/year but when it comes to things like conferences, travel, etc., he acts like he's strapped to the bone, like a $20 cab fare would shatter him. Wittgenstein famously gave up one of the largest family fortunes in Europe, Paul Erdos supposedly handed thousands of dollars to a random homeless person, why are today's academics such joyless scrooges?

>> No.6005486

100k is pretty high for a professor unless you're at a top private institution. The average is more like 80k, and I've met full professors that make as little as 55k.

>> No.6005547

>>6005486
Even so. They lack dignity. I'm just a lecturer and I make around 45k, and you won't find me creating a fucking departmental confrontation over some $100 slight.

Seriously, if you spend 5 hours filling out paperwork to get reimbursement for a $50 ride on the subway, you officially value your time at $10/hr, go work at fucking Inn 'N Out burger

>> No.6005556

They spend all their time fighting for funding and it makes them miserly.

>> No.6005569

>>6005556
The same can be said for PIs and such, and my PI had no issues shelling out $27 for lunch for me and another guy in the lab.

>> No.6005593

>>6005431