[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 34 KB, 400x362, monty halllllllllz.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
5911050 No.5911050 [Reply] [Original]

Hey, so my girlfriend and I are having a disagreement with the Monty Hall Problem. I'm a chemist and she's microbio engineer so neither of us are mathematicians...

For those who don't know, the Monty Hall Problem is as such:
You're in a game show and you are presented with three doors. Behind 1 of the doors is a care. behind the other two are goats.
Doors:
| a | b | c |
You choose door | a |. The host knows what is behind each door and opens one that is a goat, door | c |. He/she presents you with a choice. Do you want to stick with your original door, door | a |, or do you want to change to door | b |?

Monty Hall Problem proves that you if you change your choice to door | b | you have a 33.34 % greater chance of winning the car.

That is all good, assuming the objects behind the doors are not switched. This is where the disagreement comes in. With round 2, she thinks that if you were to switch the objects, you would start from scratch with a 50/50 chance and disregard round 1, while I think it makes no difference to the odds. Neither of us can mathematically prove either way. Can anyone smarter than us help?

>> No.5911059

>>5911050
Isn't this essentially superposition? You don't know until you open the door on round two if your odds are different because you have no idea how the odds have been affected? Switching answers instead of switching prizes should affect the percentages more concretely, but IDK really.

>> No.5911061

>>5911050
the wikipedia entry on this is (surprisingly) informative

under the standard set-up:
a) you select (but don't open) one of the three doors: locked in 1/3 odds