[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 352 KB, 1280x688, url.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
5599706 No.5599706 [Reply] [Original]

Hello!

I am a web designer, but have always been interested in physics and the universe. I find the best way to learn is either working hands on or by reading.

I have been trying to assemble a good list of books that give some broad explanations of physics and the universe, but do not explain them in such a way that you need to already be a physicist.

Does this list look ok? Anything you would add or remove?

A Brief History of Time --Stephen Hawking
Black Holes and Baby Universes and other Essays -- Stephen Hawking
The Universe in a Nutshell -- Stephen Hawking
The Future of Spacetime -- Stephen Hawking, Kip Thorne, Igor Novikov, Alan Lightman
The Nature of Space and Time -- Stephen Hawking and Roge Penrose
The First Three Minutes -- Steven Weinberg
The Discovery of Sub-atomic Particles -- Steven Weinberg
Dreams of a Final Theory -- Steven Weinberg
The Character of Physical Law -- Richard Feynman
QED -- Richard Feynman
The Pleasure of Finding Things Out -- Richard Feynman
The Meaning of it All -- Richard Feynman
The Quark and the Jaguar -- Murray Gell-Mann
Beyond Star Trek -- Lawrence Kraus
Space, Time and Gravity -- Robert Wald
The Trouble with Physics -- Lee Smolin
The Emperor's New Mind -- Roger Penrose
The Road to Reality, A Complete Guide to the Laws of the Universe -- Roger Penrose
The God Particle -- Leon Lederman
Conversations on the Dark Side of Physics -- Edward Teller
Superstrings -- edited by Paul Davies and J. Brown
The Inflationary Universe -- Alan Guth
The Elegant Universe -- Brian Greene
The Fabric of the Cosmos -- Brian Greene
Relativity, the Special and General Theory -- Albert Eiinstein

>> No.5599724 [DELETED]