[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 179 KB, 589x564, 1283716413267.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
5466182 No.5466182 [Reply] [Original]

So I'm studying Real number analysis from "Understanding analysis" by stephen abbott, and I don't understand it. I don't know how to "proof" something, can some one explain or send me to a source where I can start easy and build my self up.

The book is great, its just I don't understand proofs, it seems almost pointless to me, and I need to change my view on it, since it's getting in my way of finishing this course.

I do great in my physics and calc courses (85%-100% graduating grades) but I just don't understand. it's not a matter of "pleb, just doesn't understand math"... I just have to learn it, and I feel once I get over this first step I should be just fine.

like for proving that square root of 2 is not a natural number since if you consider prime numbers +1 ... for some reason that proves that it isn't a natural number.

I understand why square root of 2 isn't a natural number, I'm having trouble proving it in a way that seems logical to me.

Thanks for all the help

>> No.5466225

I'll assume you're familiar with the Peano axioms.

Using these axioms, we can prove that the set {0, S(0), S(S(0)), ... } = {0, 1, 2, ... } is a subset of the set of natural numbers, where S(a) = a+1 is the successor function.
Using these axioms, we can prove, using induction, that the set of natural numbers is a subset of the above set. Thus the sets are equivalent.
We can also establish an order on N, and we can use the above fact to prove that, for any natural number n, there does not exist a natural number x such that n < x < S(n).
But if x^2=2 and x is a natural number, then 1 < x < 2. This is a contradiction, therefore x is not a natural number.