[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 356 KB, 339x416, jav.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
5443421 No.5443421 [Reply] [Original]

Signed up for Intro to Computer Science this term, and I have no clue how its going to go.

I'm at a decent university. Problem is, when teacher asked class who had some experience in programming, almost everyone rose their hand.

I have no experience, even the input-output ideas he said on the first day are new to me.

Pretty desperate and scared that i'll fall behind.

Any one want to share some good websites, pdf's books that teach java really well.
This is our book. Is it good? Good enough that I don't need any other material.

Also, i heard programming is all about practice, how do i put in hours of practicing, without wasting my time. Are there tutorials ect.

>> No.5443439

Read the book, practise (exercises from the book, etc.), stay on top of things. If it's an intro CS class with no prereqs, you'll do fine as long as you study and keep up.

A lot of those people raising their hands haven't likely had any significant experience; don't worry about that. It's just an intro class.

>> No.5443458

Holy fuck. That picture on the textbook is the bridge near my house. Its in a park, new plymouth, new zealand.

>> No.5443530

>>5443439
i guess so. but people who signed up for the class are mostly csci majors, its kinda expected the self studied or took it in high school.

anyways thanks. Im just worried about the learning curve for computer science. It's like learning math for the first time for me. its a whole new concept.

last semester i signed up for a 2000 level intro engineering accounting. it was so hard to catch up with so much new information, that i fell behind and dropped.