[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 12 KB, 380x353, richardhawkings.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
5392221 No.5392221 [Reply] [Original]

What should I learn over the winter break in mathematics?

I'm a junior undergraduate math major. I've already taken some abstract algebra and real analysis courses so I'm up for anything accessible at this level. It could be something fun and out of the way, or something fundamental for a mathematician to know.

Thanks for suggestions.

>> No.5392231

Maybe combinatorics and/or graph theory?

>> No.5392245

>>5392231

I second some sort of discrete combinatorics type thing.

>> No.5392250

topology son.

>> No.5392252

Modular forms.

>> No.5392254

>>5392250
Taking it next semester and I've already previewed it a little.

>> No.5392288

>>5392254
I'm in your exact situation. I took intro abstract algebra/real analysis last semester, then intro topology is coming in the spring. Where do you go to school?

>> No.5392630

>>5392288
A state school

>> No.5392634

>I'm a junior undergraduate math major. I've already taken some abstract algebra and real analysis courses
WTF, are you me?

>> No.5392652

model theory
differential geometry
algebraic geometry

>> No.5392660

fun and out of the way: generating functions.
http://www.math.upenn.edu/~wilf/DownldGF.html

>> No.5392676