[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 65 KB, 268x202, vlok2.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
5364344 No.5364344 [Reply] [Original]

Hey,
I'm a graduate student who's studying Bio-Science Engineering, major in Chemical Engineering and Bioprocess Technology.
I have a little dilemma in the chosing of my masters thesis, and maybe you guys can help me.

I'm interested in modelling systems and using this knowledge in things like process control, optimization,... Two professors have offered me several subjects, saying I can choose whichever I want if I do my thesis with them. One is working on continuous models based on PDE (cfr. CFD, bioreactor models,...) while the other is working on discrete models based on cellular automata (cfr Wolframs 'A new kind of Science).
The first kind of models has already an established amount of knowledge so the subjects would be more applied, for example setting up a model for a waste water treatment plant. PDE's offer a lot of limitations in the model complexity however and sometimes offer bad approximations.
The CA models are relatively new, so the subjects in this niche cover 'simpler' things like the modelling of a chemical reaction, which would still be rather complex but not as complex as an entire bioreactor of course. The goal here would be to build a model from scratch, as CA-models have no established protocols (yet). It would be more a research 'in the unknown' but would ofcourse also be more difficult because of this, and literature would offer less support.

Has /sci any thoughts for me to help me make my decision? If you need more information, ask away.

>> No.5364366