[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 283 KB, 639x771, genetics.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
5024442 No.5024442 [Reply] [Original]

/sci/, I'm interested in bioinformatics.

I'm an undergrad studying marine bio, currently in my junior year. I've always enjoyed biology, and thought it might make a good career, but my first two years in college made me doubt myself. I simply wasn't enjoying the subject material.

I've always enjoyed working with computers. Messed around with BASIC when I was 8. Took a python course in high school (and got kicked out when I spent all my time trying to get around the internet filters because I was always so far ahead of the plebs that I got bored). Took a C++ course last year and enjoyed it, though the teacher wasn't the best. I wanted to go for an IT-related major, but at the time my parents basically told me that I wouldn't receive any financial support from them (because they think my interest with computers is nothing but HURR, I LIKE VIDEO GAMES). So I went for the bio major. Boredom and (at-the-time undiagnosed) ADHD led to mediocre grades, far below what I should have gotten (and not even a 98 in the C++ class could get my parents to recognize what I should be doing).