[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 974 KB, 1226x793, ckt.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4901398 No.4901398 [Reply] [Original]

I'm not sure if I should put this in a different forum or not.
I'm requesting academic advice, preferably from people who actually know what they're talking about.
That said,
I'm 24 and I'm an engineering undergraduate. I had issues in high school I didn't deal with that caused me to be mediocre, I took some time off after that, and then I started at a community college again after coming out of (a VERY LONG episode of) major depression and completely changed, cognitively.
My community college ran out of courses and since then I've been at University of Illinois, Chicago. I have a 4.0 and I destroy curves. My major as an undergrad is electrical (signal and image processing, specifically), minors in BioE and Math, and I'm planning an accelerated Masters in BioE. I don't like my school. I feel like my degree will just scream "I got rejected from the REAL U of I", which isn't even true. If I transfer elsewhere, I'll lose both minors and have anything this fall and after not count. Is it worth it to do it, right now? I'm not getting any younger, either.

>> No.4901409

>>4901398
It's not worth it. The school you go to doesn't matter that much when you're applying for jobs or for graduate schools. What really matters is experience (research or internships/etc.) and recommendations. No one will care that you went to the Chicago campus instead of the main one, and that won't be a reason to deny you from grad school.

Don't let it bother you at all. Get good grades, build a rapport with some of your professors, and try to get some research or internship experience. You'll be fine, anon.

>> No.4901418

>>4901409
Shit, though, I feel like a loser every day.