[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 13 KB, 425x282, analysis_of_data.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4780965 No.4780965 [Reply] [Original]

Will learning analysis help me become a better engineer? I'm in my second year of undergrad and need something to differentiate myself from the pact. I want something that puts me ahead, and it's been said (here) that analysis is a great thing to learn.

What kind of skills will learning analysis provide for me?

Also, I take it that analysis will be beneficial to my conquest of learning Quantum Field Theory?

On that note, what's a good path to learn QFT?

I was thinking Lin Alg, Analysis, Calculus, non-relativistic qm, then QFT.

I have Michael Spivak's Calculus so I can use that as an intro to Analysis and refine my Calculus skills at the same time. Thanks.

>> No.4780990

Nothing well help you more than the absence of idiots and a comfortable chair.

>> No.4781000

To understand Quantum Field Theory and why we need it you first need to have a grasp on classical field theory and quantum mechanics. I'm really no full-fledged expert, although I spend some time doing QFT during my masters thesis.

You need to know classical mechanics and its Langrangian / Hamiltonian formulation - and understand the physics behind it. Electrodynamics is also necessary in a way because it is the most-used example of a classical field theory.

I know, quite a lot to learn. Took me ages to halfway understand what the fuck am I doing. If you went to have a look in a good starters QFT textbook, get "Peskin and Schroeder".

>> No.4781007

>>4780990
Hehe

>>4781000

Thanks, I will definite check this out. What do you think about Sakurai? Also, how much harder is QFT than non-relative QM?

>> No.4781022

>>4781007