[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 58 KB, 450x320, stock market.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4730113 No.4730113 [Reply] [Original]

Anyone dabble in the stock market in their spare time?

Is it a good way to make cash on the side? Just wondering. I have no experience with economics. Math background is up to differential equations, with no statistics yet. Where can I start out learning about the stock market and the math behind it?

or should I just not get into it. sorry I seriously have zero background in it and thought someone here could point me in the right direction of what I needed to teach myself (or not even try)

>> No.4730128

No. No. No. No. No. No.

Did I mention no? No. No. No. No. No.

Start a business or get a money market account to dump your extra bread into. Forget stock investing.

>> No.4730528

[Caution: Not for idiots]

Hello,

I will try to answer your question because there really is a legit scientific answer, and hopefully you will try to understand the answer because it's actually a difficult concept to grasp for most people, even those who partcipate in the market.

Math (beyond arithmetric) is not going to help you win on the stock market. There are caveats and exceptions, but I can't be bothered to explain them right now. You'll see why in a moment.

--

The central principal of the stock market comes from a 1900 economic whitepaper called The Theory of Speculation by Louis Bachlier.

It goes something like this:

If there was a stock: Coca Cola for example, and you were aware that because of greater advertising/production that the company was capable of making more profits, then owning stock of that company would make sense because the company is able to pay its shareholders more dividends.