[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 208 KB, 652x543, compsci2.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4488924 No.4488924 [Reply] [Original]

Hey,

You guys might remember me from earlier. I'm studying for a group theory test in a few days by proving all the theorems in my book I don't know proofs for. I need help with one more...

If every group of order n > 1 is cyclic, then n is either prime or a product of
distinct primes.

Thanks!

>> No.4488926

bump

>> No.4488940

bump, I got a lot of great help before....hoping someone can give me a hand. Proving n can be prime is fairly trivial as all groups of prime order are cyclic, I'm just having trouble with the "product of distinct primes" possibility.

>> No.4488949

Note that in, for example, <span class="math">\mathbb{Z}/6\mathbb{Z} \cong \mathbb{Z}/3\mathbb{Z} \times \mathbb{Z}/2\mathbb{Z}[/spoiler]. Specifically, the latter has an element <span class="math">1 \times 1[/spoiler] of order 6. In general, the direct sum of groups has an element with order equal to the least common multiple of the orders of the summands.

>> No.4488962

>>4488949
Now, what you need to prove is that for orders with a factor <span class="math">p^2[/spoiler], then there is a group with that order that is not cyclic. You should be convinced that in the direct product of cyclic groups, any element's order divides the lcm of the orders of the summands. So, let <span class="math">p^n[/spoiler] be the highest power of p dividing |G|. Then if we let G be the abelian group<span class="math">\mathbb{Z}/p\mathbb{Z} \times \mathbb{Z}/p\mathbb{Z} \times \cdots[/spoiler] then it is easy to see that the least common multiple of the summands is at most |G|/p, and therefore G has no element of order p.

>> No.4488964

>>4488962