[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 15 KB, 269x312, feynman.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4486672 No.4486672 [Reply] [Original]

What's wrong with it?

How can we fix it?

Why did the new math movement fail?

What is the elementary curriculum in a stereotypically "good at math" country such as China like?

discuss

>> No.4486676

Murkans r 2dumb

/thread

>> No.4486678

Should be asking what is wrong with the American education system in general. Then focus on specific avenues of study. But the educational system is shit to begin with, math suffers the most from that probably.

>> No.4486693

At least in my school, up until I graduated, it wasn't cool to be smart. People actually bragged about how much stupider they were than everyone else. As long as this is the outlook of a large percentage of Americans, our education system cannot be fixed.

>> No.4486706

>>4486693
i agree with this somewhat but still in other countries their curriculums are more advanced than ours

>> No.4486715

China:
>child comes home with bad mark
>parents beat him and ground him for six months

America:
>child comes home with bad mark
>parents buy something to the kid to cheer him up and then sue the school and the teacher

>> No.4486737

>>4486693
not even some sort of social or cultural revolution?

>> No.4486750

Modern mathematical concepts like functions are not introduced early enough, and when they are, not enough intuition is shown so that a wider audience of students can grasp it.

That and cultural reasons in the US. Just my opinion.

>> No.4486754

>Why did the new math movement fail?
Because trying to teach elementary schoolers number theory before even exposing them to basic arithmetic is pants-on-head retarded.

>> No.4486760