[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 64 KB, 296x375, dr-manhattan2.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4325254 No.4325254[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

/sci/

Now that I've been studying a hard science for 3 years, I have realized that their is not a purpose to life as far as I can tell and now I am always depressed.

Is this normal?
Anybody else have this happen to them?

>> No.4325256

Only I have the capacity for true existential suffering.

>> No.4325257

>their is not a purpose to life
>their is not
>their

Reported for philosophy.

>> No.4325264

>>4325254

>Had to study hard science to realize that there isnt any purpose to life

What the actual fuck?

>> No.4325267

>>4325254
There are two kinds of purpose, what Dawkins nicknamed archeo-purpose and neo-purpose.

One kind of purpose is the kind from design. A designer or builder has a specific aim when building something, and that aim or intent is its purpose.

The other kind of purpose is what utility or function we can ascribe to something. While no one designed a bird, I can say the purpose of a bird's wings is to fly.

In the first sense, life has no creator, so it has no purpose under the first sense.

Under the second sense, it has whatever purpose you want to ascribe to it.

Finally, why so sad? I never understood this. Why do you care if you have a designer who made you with a specific intent in mind? You want a dictator controlling your life? Be happy in your freedom.

>> No.4325274

>>4325267

>Baby's first steps in philosophy
>Reinventing the wheel

Not refering to you, but the Dawkins that you described.

>> No.4325277

>>4325267