[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 15 KB, 354x354, vac.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4191865 No.4191865 [Reply] [Original]

Hello /sci/, I'd appreciate your help on this.

I'm doing my PhD in engineering, and my project involves microfluidics. I just designed a new process to remove bubbles, and need a vacuum to do it. My device needs to be inside a special room and it doesn't have access to the house vacuum (for those unfamiliar, a little nozzle labeled "Vac" common in most labs).

I don't need much pressure, just about -100 kPa, or roughly 12 psi if I remember the conversion correctly. It does need to be a fairly consistent pressure though.

So, I'm looking for a small device capable of creating a light vacuum, and it can be of ANY design so long as it's consistent, small, and cheap. I'd prefer not to spend more than $300 of my adviser's money on this, especially if my idea doesn't work and I will not be able to build something from various parts.

>> No.4191879

I forgot that it needs to be fairly clean and quiet too. I don't want this contaminating everything and pissing other people off who work inside the same room.

I already have a few ideas, but I'm hoping some of you will have other that ideas that could take me in different directions.

>> No.4191892

>>4191865
>>4191879
Why not use an ordinary vacuum pump, like the ones that evacuate refirgerant systems?

>> No.4191897

Does it need to run continuously?

>> No.4191904

>>4191892
Are these quiet, and do you have some links? I literally have no experience with this whatsoever.

>>4191897
Yes, I would like it to stand alone. It will run for a few weeks at a time.

>> No.4191913

can you use a hobby pump? fish tanks and such

>> No.4191915

compressed air brake bleeder?

>> No.4191929

>>4191915
>>4191913