[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 28 KB, 600x428, electrical.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4086918 No.4086918 [Reply] [Original]

I am an electrical engineer in my junior year of college and am getting very worried. I have heard several accounts now of engineers who graduated with a degree, only to find that they could not land a single job in their field, and took jobs that were completely unrelated to what they wanted to do.
What I am asking is for people who did major in engineering and landed a job, what was it that you did that enabled you to succeed? And for those who did not do so well after graduation, what went wrong, what mistakes did you make, and what would you have done over?
Major? Sub-branch? University? GPA? Current Salary?

>> No.4086942

Bump motherfuckers

>> No.4086955

depends what school/gpa really.

why would any employer hire someone with a shit gpa and shit tier school.

>> No.4087043

>>4086918

Oh fuck I know at least one of you bastards is an Engineering Major graduate. It's fucking inevitable. I don't care if you fuck-up or how badly, I just want to know what mistakes you made along the way. Or if you did well, what you felt went right?

This will take like 5 min and I could learn a great deal from it. This is not something that any amount of digging through textbooks is going to get me, and most of the professors graduated into an environment completely different than this one, many decades ago.

>> No.4087052

its all about personality.

>> No.4087068

>>4086918
I majored in engineering from UC riverside with a 2.5 gpa and still manage to get a good job. I work for BP now.

>> No.4087085
File: 25 KB, 347x500, Nude1.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>4087068