[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 22 KB, 250x329, 250px-Colonne_distillazione..jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3950868 No.3950868 [Reply] [Original]

Question: Chemical engineering. If I study this am I doomed to work in a factory?

>> No.3950877

No.
Next question?

>> No.3950882

>not doing aerospace

>> No.3950889

There are far worse fates my friend.

>> No.3950898

Yes, you will be in some shitty factory/plant. I am a civil engineer (CSUN). But lucky for me I landed a job as a facilities manager assistant at one of the Valley movie studios. I an surrounded by hot women from all over looking for fame.

Switch you major if you want an office job or are a people person. I worked as an engineer for a while (CALTRANS), and I fucking hated my goofball, nerd co-
workers.

>> No.3950899

just get into the nanotech side of chemical engineering

>> No.3950904

Not OP but what chemistry do CHE usually go up to? Organic Chem II with some P-Chem?

>> No.3950907

>>3950904
the program where i went required advanced organic and pchem, but you had room to take more if you wanted

>> No.3950918

>>3950907
Oh that is pretty cool. Right now I'm only in my first chem classand about to take my first physics next semester along with calc II. I know I have a pretty damn long road ahead of me... Do you have any tips for someone this early on?

>> No.3950922

>>3950918
Short of CHANGE MAJORS WHILE ITS STILL TIME? Nah. CHE is less fun than chemistry itself though, mainly because they throw thrice as much maths in your face.

>> No.3950932

>>3950922
So the math is the hardest part then? I hear a lot of CHE majors complainabout Fluids and Mass Transfer so I'll be on the lookout for those classes. How long did it take you to get your degree? Where do you work now?

>> No.3950941

>>3950932