[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 189 KB, 500x368, tumblr_lpy51uc73s1qil6hqo1_500.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3910555 No.3910555 [Reply] [Original]

So /sci/, I'm a teacher of 4th grade students. I teach Science, Math and History. I have a little Science-related story to tell you.

This one kid, let's just call him John for the sake of this thread, was doing all his work and getting As or Bs on most of his papers. One day, he just started to sit and do nothing in Science class. He wouldn't do his Science homework either. Anytime I asked him why he refused to do it, he would just ignore me, like I didn't even exist. He was still getting good grades in his other subjects, but he was getting zeros in Science.

So we called the mother in for a conference. As soon as she walked in, I could tell she was upset. I went straight to the point, the conversation went something like this.

Me: John isn't doing his Science work.
Her: I know.
Me: What? You know? Well... Have you spoken to him about it?
Her: Oh yeah, I talked to him about it.
Me: And what did he say?
Her: He told me just what you're doing.
Me: Excuse me?
Her: He told me you're trying to teach him the devil's word.
Me: ...What?
Her: He told me you were teaching Evolution in your school and that's the devil's word! We're Christians, we believe in the word of God!
Me: Ma'am, it's just part of our curriculum, there's no need to be upset.
Her: You're trying to teach my son about the devil's tricks and I told him not to do any of your devil Science work!
Me: So you're not going to do anything about him not doing his work?
Her: Hell no, and if you try and force him I'll report you to the church!
Me: Okay then. I'll be sure to see him again when he repeats the grade.
Her: You better not fail him!