[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 144 KB, 648x597, cscads01.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3823638 No.3823638 [Reply] [Original]

Sup sci.

I'm a PhD student in engineering facing general exams in January, on the topics of fluid mechanics and applied mathematics. For those unfamiliar, general examinations (at my university) consist of three brilliant tenured professors behind closed doors asking you questions which you discuss and answer on a board. These are meant to be very very comprehensive and difficult. Every professors has been through this ordeal, and they have every intention of making certain that you can be considered nothing short of an expert in the field. This is not a "oh I kinda bombed the exam and got a C" kind of event. If you fail, you are kicked out of the program and you will never be called "Dr." If you pass, you keep going on in your education.

>> No.3823659

ok.

have fun.

>> No.3823661
File: 54 KB, 500x500, 51ABY15P1DL._SS500_.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

I'm here today to see if we have anyone here interesting in joining me 3 months of very intense study in applied mathematics. Topics covered will include ODEs, PDEs, Fourier and Laplace transforms, conformal mapping, complex calculus, linear algebra, and more. A sample reading list:

L. Debnath & PR Mikusinski, Introduction to Hilbert Spaces with Applications
RA Horn & CR Johnson, Matrix Analysis
M. Greenberg, Foundations of Applied Mathematics
IS Sokolniroff & RM Redheffer, Mathematics of Physics & Modern Engineering

If interested, I'll provide very detailed course notes, which can be easily supplemented by wikipedia and ebooks.