[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 90 KB, 228x362, Dinosauroid4.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
[ERROR] No.3600030 [Reply] [Original]

I've heard Carl Sagan was optimistic when it came to Aliens, so I hope I'm not being unscientific by suggesting that they might exist somewhere out in the universe. I'm not that scientifically literate, hence referencing a pop-scientist like Carl Sagan. I'm a Journalist, and I imagine bringing up Carl Sagan on these forums is just as tedious to you people as when hipster's at parties hear I'm a Journalist and start talking to me about Fear and Loathing. Shit, they don't even talk about Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail, they talk about Las Vegas, which contains about 10% actual factual journalist reporting.

But I digress: Say Aliens exist, what are the chances we've seen something similiar to them before?

By that I mean, a lot of weird shit evolves on Earth in a lot of different ways for a lot of different reasons. Frill-necked lizards evolve the ability to skitter swiftly over the sand so that he doesn't burn his feet. And lizards/snakes generally have biological functions evolved for hot, dry, climates.

Now, does this mean we should expect any life from a desert planet to be lizard-like? Or does it simply mean there are a myriad of lifeforms that could function in a desert and squamata is simply one order that has evolved on our planet?

TL;DR: Is it likely Aliens will be biologically and aesthetically similiar to a lot of animals on this planet?

>> No.3600070

>>3600030
So many species on this planet are aesthetically different already. Would it be reasonable to assume that a species that came from completely different conditions ended up like a species from this planet? No, it would not